Week before Thanksgiving

This is a busy week and I expect next week will be even busier, although the kids are out of school all week. This week I had one school Thanksgiving function to go to…my 2nd graders. Thankfully, I guess they skip this event for 1st graders so it was only one event I had to cook and help serve at. I am very blessed to be able to work from home three days a week. And I have leaders at work that don’t care when I work, as long as I get it done on time and meet all my responsibilities. And of course, in order to keep this benefits I am totally happy to bust my buns to make sure I don’t lose it.

The only real downside is that I have to look at a dirty house all the time and feel the guilt of not cleaning it. At least when you go in the office, it’s all out of sight, out of mind. And next year when my youngest starts PreK, I’m really not going to have any excuses for not cleaning. I know some of you may think I will be sad to see my last child head off to school/Prek…my little baby…my last one is growing up. IT CANNOT HAPPEN FAST ENOUGH FOR ME! I love that little joker like crazy, but having a few hours every day without him will be the greatest thing EVAR!!!!

Okay on to what is going on in the world…well let’s be honest, the United States of America really. No offense to the rest of the world, but we have enough issues to deal with in this country that I cannot focus on yours too. One thing is for sure…if this LAME lame duck congress doesn’t do something about the tax rates next year, I’m going to scream. So many things are “on hold” while everyone wonders what their tax rates will be.

At work we had to decide on our health benefits for next year. One little caveat…they don’t have the 2011 rates for medical yet. A lady I work with was wondering why and I said, these insurance companies have no idea what to expect next year…between Obamacare and taxes, they have no idea WHAT to charge. Thankfully the only insurance I really need right now, Dental and Eye Care isn’t changing all that much next year. I just wish we could get catastrophic health insurance and not worry about all these other things it all has to include. My company gives us a free annual exam no matter what insurance we get, and that’s all I really need. If my kids get sick, 90% of the time it’s a virus and every time I take them I get “it’s a virus and there’s nothing we can do but wait it out…that’ll be $20 please”. So needless to say, I only take them if they have sore throats (strep) or ear aches (infections) where they may need antibiotics.

Now dental care, orthodontics and the need for glasses is a whole other ball game. But honestly, if it were just a true free market system, and we could just have HSA accounts, I think even though it would take some getting used to, it would eventually much better, easier to deal with and I bet even cheaper!

I feel like that episode of Seinfeld…Elaine: You should run for mayor Jerry: EH..nobody listens.

About g8rmom7

I am a working Mom of 4 who for all intensive purposes was asleep politically until August of 08 when Sarah Palin was introduced by John McCain to the world as his running mate. A lot has happened since that time and I will always be greatful to two political figures for waking me up and putting the light under my butt to fight for my kids future. Sarah of course, and Barack Obama. I truly believe that God IS in charge and he had a specific reason for making him President. For me, it's obvious...and I promise Lord...I'm AWAKE!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Week before Thanksgiving

  1. AFinch says:

    Hi g8r — I just figured out that your new avatar is Elaine. It took the Seinfeld reference to make it click into place. All the best to you and yours during the busy Thanksgiving season.

    • g8rmom7 says:

      Yeah, I’m a big Seinfeld fan…my oldest daughter’s nickname is Lainie. 😉 And I wanted a new avatar that didn’t have my own face for privacy reasons.

  2. Ting says:

    I think that you are right that health care would be cheaper if we all had HSA’s. I read something in the last year that showed that HSA’s with a high deductible ins. policy are the only area to have stable costs over the last several years.

    Have a happy thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

